Running to a standstill


I was just watching a few people run in the gym today as I got myself set up (i.e. new runners laced up and ipod selection on – john digweed if you must know). Whether its guys/girls running inside or outside I sometimes get a feeling of pity while watch them.

i know that sounds funny, especially coming from someone who has run a 3hr 11mins marathon as I love the freedom of running. However, I find it hard watching people run who could clearly benefit from doing some weights and decent core work not to mention a ton of stretching. What I mean by this is that there are a few types of runners –

1. The you should not be running runners – these are clearly overweight and for some bizare reason think they are grand going back to an activity they look like they have not done in over 10-20years and yes they have bought all the gear just so they look the part also! They should stick to walking until they drop a bit of weight and pop in a short interval run/walk as a gentle way of building up the running. Just use the non-impact cardio activities at first, sort diet out and hit the weights.

I do not think running is the solution buddy

I do not think running is the solution buddy

2. The crook runner – I dont mean they belong in a prison or anything, just that they look all bent over, stiff and as if they are hurting on every step. Stop running! Hit the weights, foam roll and stretch wayyyy more.  i have never worked with a single runner that was not as stiff as a poker.  

3. The runner runner – they look, move and even sound the part. These are the runners that if you were on a treadmill beside them they glide along with little effort at 12-16kpm while others plod along at 9-12kpm making the treadmill shake. These runners are all lean, they do more than just run i.e. they do core work, stretch and some weights.

Running the intervals for faster fat loss

Running the intervals for faster fat loss

The issue I have is that the majority of people that look to get in better shape take up running or walking as opposed to using a more rounded program that would produce better results in a shorter time. They look at the runner runner and say that could be me without understanding the level they are at and what that person is actually doing in their training.  

For me running beyond 30mins really does not hold any major health benefits and although I do 30mins + runs from time to time I do not find I feel or look best when doing long runs or exclusively running. There are very very few runners I see daily that I would admire their physique and the people I do admire invariably do more than just running to look their best. For weight loss or just to look fit and toned I see running as one part of a program and if its the ONLY thing you do well lets just day that it’s a bit like saying you want to travel from Dublin to Belfast but you decide to take a detour via Galway and Sligo i.e. you MIGHT get there in the end but boy oh boy there are quicker ways of getting in shape and looking your best.  

SO if you are just running or only doing aerobic activity to get in shape while wondering why your body is not tight and toned all over then you really need to get a good weights program and sort your diet out.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Running to a standstill”

  1. Kate Saunders Says:

    Great post! You are so right! I am a bit overweight and would not even think of starting a running program. There are better ways of getting cardio for us folks. I’m married to a “runner runner” and you’re right-he does weights, stretching and core work in addition to his daily running regimen!

  2. Mor Says:

    Great post and as usual something new to think about… 🙂

    When I started running over a year ago I personally didn’t find that going beyond 30-45 mins was really giving me a good return in terms of overall fitness, strength or weight loss. The extra time was better spent doing any kind of strength building exercise.

    I’m a definite treadmill pounder though, never really thought about it before but I must have some serious work to do on my gait. It’s all ‘heels first’ at the moment. So I’m off to google to see what I can learn!
    Any advice?

  3. The most popular award goes to…. « Transform's Personal Training Blog Says:

    […] https://thetransformationcatalyst.wordpress.com/2010/02/21/running-to-a-standstill/ […]

  4. Are marathons worth the effort? « Transform's Personal Training Blog Says:

    […] is a topic I have touched on before here and my thoughts remain the same. Use running as one part of your whole program and not the entire […]

Leave a comment