Competition Training


Just a quick note to say that my home page site was down over the past few days and is back up again BUT this blog was always running fine so remember to bookmark it or add to your favourites so you do not have to go through my home page to get here.

For the next two weeks my own workouts will consist of double metcons (two workouts per day) in preperation for the up coming crossfit invite on saturday the 22nd May.

I will be mainly following the http://crossfit.ie/workouts/ workouts during this time as they will be setting the workouts for the competition so it’s best to stick to their programming as it will best prepare me. During this time it makes no real sense to do any heavy sessions focusing on increasing strength as now is not the time to worry about not being strong enough as big gains in strength will not happen in just two weeks. The focus is on getting used to doing 2-3 workouts per day and more importantly RECOVERY!!

Hang power cleans in action

Hang power cleans in action

Recovery is massively overlooked by so many as there is no point in being able to put in 3-7 workouts for one week and then being so shattered you can’t train the following week. With that in mind please have a re-read of my article on increasing recovery if you want to know what I will be doing – https://thetransformationcatalyst.wordpress.com/2010/04/11/5-ways-to-faster-workout-recovery/

So yesterday I did the ring dips 5reps and overhead squat (45kg) 10reps as many rounds as possible in 10mins. I really had to work on my overhead squats and found it took me 2-3 rounds to get in a groove. I use a new olympic bar that was ripping my hands so that kind of made it harder. I ended up getting 10 rounds in 10mins which I was happy with but 10mins later I was running on empty for the second workout (500m row, 30 burpees and 15 chest to bar pull ups – 4.36mins).

Here is the last 5 rounds of the dip/OH squat wod –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=imEkmookZgQ

A good days work and more to do today so will keep you posted on my progress.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Competition Training”

  1. Marco Says:

    First off, love the improvement in the snatches, well done. Second, why don’t you do one metcon in the morning one in the afternoon? I know that on the day, there wont be that much of a gap, but you have the next day to recover after going balls to the ball, so maybe in the weeks leading up do 4 days split morning/afternoon, and two days with a short break instead? Best of luck with it anyway, and make sure someone films it, so I can check it out. You can also thank your lucky stars I wont be there screaming in your ear to keep going!!! ( not that you need it, it could just get annoying I imagine!)

Leave a comment