Crossfit Barbara


Just a quick update that I did crossfit barbara again –

20 pull ups

30 press ups

40 sit ups

50 squats

3min break between rounds x 5 rounds

I finished it in 28.46mins this is a 2.14min improvement on my last attempt on Feb 25th this year. https://thetransformationcatalyst.wordpress.com/2010/02/25/saying-hello-to-barbara/

I felt better going into this one as I had not done a ton of pressing the day before and as anyone knows that has done this workout, it’s the press ups that slows most people down. Every time I took a break I counted to 3 and went straight back into it. I again got all the pull ups on all sets for 20reps without coming off the bar (come on guys if you can’t get up to even 15reps of pull ups yet you need to start asking questions!).

I also felt stronger on the sit ups and I think the ab wheel rollouts and hanging leg raises I have been doing have helped with that.

Nose to flooor and straight back!

Nose to flooor and straight back!

I have had quite a few clients do this workout in the last while and Elaine still has the best time of 29.22mins doing inverted rows, press ups on the knees and the other two as listed. Oh and she has three kids also! I must say it’s the ladys I train that regualrly post better times than the guys on many workouts. I still think many people just want to go to gyms or fitness classes and be able to say they have worked out rather than truly putting in the hard work.

I really think this is such a great benchmark workout to retest on.  The clients I have tested on this one that perform well are the ones with a good base strength, good fitness (they recover fast) and excellent mental strength. Almost all of them also train no more than about 30-40mins 4-5 days per week.

If you read this pleeeeeeeease do this workout asap and post time to comments as it would be great for others to see. It is vital that you use a full range of motion in all exercises as otherwise the times are not comparable. I know many will not as they want to keep doing the same workout they have been doing for ages and then asking why they are not getting any better results.

Everyone wants to look amazing and feel great but not many want to work hard and push for progress. The great put in the work while the many keep asking questions.

“Success comes from knowing that you did your best to become the best that you are capable of becoming”. John Wooden American Great Basketball coach

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Crossfit Barbara”

  1. Trev Says:

    I accept your challenge! 😉
    Was gonna do some max effort overhead pressing and then ‘Helen’ today but I’ll do this instead.

  2. Trev Says:

    ‘Cindy’ seems like a walk in the park after that!! Horrible, horrible workout Dom!! 39:06!!
    I was going for sub 35:00! Next time!!

  3. Dominic Munnelly Says:

    well done and yes its total killer!!

    Which did you find hardest?

  4. Trev Says:

    Press ups after pull ups were a nightmare, particularly in the last round.

  5. Anna Says:

    Ok so second time round – I did it in 28.17, doing inverted rows and press-ups off the knees. Pretty happy with that!

Leave a comment